top of page

A Letter to My Younger Self


 

Dear younger me,

La vie est belle.

Where should I start? Should I start telling you everything I have learned so far to make you one step ahead of what will happen? Should I start telling you the things that will come your way so you can prepare and choose wisely among different options?

I wish I could tell you everything that I have learned so far to save you from so much worrying and stress. Things would be much different.

Nevertheless, let me tell you lot of things whirling in my mind right now.

I want you to savor the feeling of sweating heavily because of the adrenaline rush from playing your favorite outdoor games with your friends. Always enjoy the meals you have with your family where you are all present. Practice singing more and work at your desire and aspiration to learn different musical instruments for you have so much time. Study and read a lot of books because it will teach you a lot. I know it seems like the hardest chore, but it will be a big part of you. Cherish the times you will have with your classmates and friends for they will still be there while you are on your way to achieving your dreams. It’s gonna be some of the best months of your life.

Cherish the time with your whole family and make effort to get closer to your relatives, especially your grandparents. Listen to your parents and always respect them.

Take care of yourself and sleep because you will not have a lot of time for that when you reach the time when you need to finish school works and dread for deadlines. Healthy diet and exercise isn’t all or nothing, and sometimes those three-hour naps aren't the best choice.

Take a deep breathe and the enjoy the much colder breeze because I promise you, the air you breathe in just now is a lot more cleaner than mine. Trust your parents. Be more kind to your brothers and sisters. Spend your money wisely because it will help you on doing what you want. You will have more different friends than you have now, and most of them will stay with you. It’s okay. The ones who aren't as close with you anymore are still with you, and it doesn't undervalue the wonderful time being spent with them now.

You don't like your math subjects but hey it will become harder trust me (hahahaha). You may have read different stories and you may be a fan of romantic narratives but believe me, fantasy, mystery, and science fiction is what you love. Many things will influence you especially the growing and advancing technology so in your moment, enjoy every seconds of simplicity and authenticity.

Be who you are. Exactly in the present moment to the next, it is the greatest gift you can give someone because we’re mostly trying to be who everyone else wants us to be. By showing up exactly as we are, ready to be who we will become and strangely, this is the way we grow.

I know you well enough so I can't tell you to stop being afraid because it has a stronghold on you like everyone else. But listen to me, take a deep breath and say a little prayer of guidance and strength. Remember that sometimes it is exhilarating and fulfilling to do what you are afraid of. Do it because you are afraid and you will stop it from bossing you around anymore.

Take back all the days fear has stolen.

The older you knows that confusion, uncertainty, doubt, and fear NEVER goes away and unfortunately, it’s like a shadow that follows you everywhere.

Trust in the Lord with all your heart and stop trying to figure out all the details on your own. Seek for help and remember that you are not alone. You will mess up. You will fail. But you will also get back up and keep going more determined than ever to succeed. Trust me, those little failures are not even half of what will come in your next years.

You will go through dark and frustrating periods in your life…and it’s okay.

They say that dark periods are the times when the light came through the brightest and God spoke loudest when you were at your weakest.

And lastly, be patient. You don’t have to get everything done at one time. Give you and the people around you a break. It's not always winning that matters. What you learn from it and the people you experienced it with are so much more significant.

Oh younger me, dear, you’re quite amazing than you know and much smarter than you give yourself credit for. Maybe you're too young and won't realize it for many years but the things you hate about yourself are your strongest qualities. I know, I know. You’re probably rolling your eyes at me, but trust me you are enough. Don't be too hard on yourself. Fill yourself with passion and love for every thing you will do. In every adventure you journey, make the most out of it and don't forget to enjoy. There are more things to come for you and for older me so enjoy every moment.

Younger me, be brave.

La vie est belle,

18-year old self

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page